Break it with Crab & Prawn congee

The idea of cooking really puts me into a test, whether it will turn out the way I wanted it to be, or it would be the other way around; DISASTER. I have been living on my own for a fair amount of time, and never in my life that I could manage to put this particular dish in just 40minutes, and just in time to break fast. After all, I have been pigging out quite often these days, and guilt has surrounded me BIG TIME! Since it was a success dish (the other half approved), I am going to share with you this simple, easy, and flavourful congee. Moreover, I have to credit my friend Elaine who showed me her mean picture of her congee’s version the night before, and made me to believe that I can cook it too. I have never tasted hers yet, but a person who is crazy with Le Cruset collections would never lie on this matter.

elaine
Elaine’s mean version! Yumss. Find her at #ETkitchen in instagram peeps.

On another note, I will try to guide you through this recipe step-by-step, and as simple as possible 🙂

For the ingredients, it can easily be found in any supermarket or wet market, and it only cost me RM20 😀 It would cost you less if you have some of the ingredients at home. In my case, I have rice, oil, garlic, and salt at home.

The ingredients

Crabprawnporridge

Preparation

  1. Wash 1 1/2 cups of rice, put it in a pot and set aside.
  2. Cut 2 inch ginger into fine julienne, coarsely ground black pepper, chopped 3 cloves of garlic, spring onion, and coriander.
  3. Carefully devein prawns by slitting in the middle part. Keep shell intact.(I used 6 prawns)
  4. Clean crab by removing its tail flap, open the upper shell(head) and remove the gill, and innards. Chop into two parts.(I cheated, I asked the supermarket lady to clean it for me 😀 )

Method

  1. In a pot, add in an estimation of 4 cups of water (depends on your desired congee consistency). Add in the sliced ginger, 1 anchovies cube stock, black pepper, and bring it into a boil. Reduce to a simmer.
  2. Meanwhile, fry the chopped garlic with oil until slightly brown. Set aside together with the oil.
  3. Once the rice is cooked into porridge-like, place the prawns, and crab. This will make the stock more flavourful.
  4. Reduce heat, and continue cooking for another 15-20minutes, stir occasionally to prevent the grains from sticking.
  5. Remove prawns, and crab from pot once cooked. You do not want to eat overcooked prawns, and crab.
  6. Season with salt, and add in sesame oil if desired. Cook longer if you want to achieve a smoother congee consistency.
  7. Serve with chopped spring onions, coriander, and pour in the garlic oil onto the congee.

There you go, a simple delight of pleasure for buaka puasa. I hope you guys will try this recipe and share your experience with me, and for this recipe, even though it is for two servings, I managed to keep some for my sahoor 🙂 and I also boiled salted egg as my extra condiments.

Enjoy~

3 thoughts on “Break it with Crab & Prawn congee

  1. WOW! This dish looks very rich. So I will have to imagine what it tastes like. 40 minutes isn’t a long time to make a dish though, especially if you have a “taste” for it. I’m a vegetarian, but I will eat crab and prawns once in a while. You do have to “spice” them up however, because they really don’t have a lot of flavor otherwise. So I can understand why a heavy sauce might be the better option when deciding to eat them. Interesting recipe!

    Like

    1. I was surprised with the outcome myself. It was my friend who made me believe that I can actually do it, and I thought it would be best to share this recipe with everyone. Let me know if someday you are going to make this.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

