Balik Kampung – Part 1

Living away from home is always a challenge, particularly during festive season, and now Hari Raya Aidilfitri/Eid is coming soon and I believe that to those who are celebrating and living far away from home are the most anticipated people at this time around. In Malaysia, it is quite a scene when it is time for balik kampung, whether you are using the public transportation, by car, or airplane, everywhere will result into a chaotic situation and I was quite lucky to get my flight ticket at a very reasonable price considering that I purchase it a few days before Ramadhan. Trust me, you wouldn’t want to purchase it at the very last minute.

This year balik kampung will be a bit different as my friend at work, Sophia who is from United Kingdom will come and join me and my family for this Raya/Eid. It’s her first time being away from her family for this celebration, and I hope that coming over to Kuching will make her a little bit less homesick. I know how it feels like to be away from home, let alone being away from a celebration that you usually spend it with your friends and family. I can’t wait to show her around town, and let her experience our traditional dishes, learn about our culture, and bring her visiting for this upcoming Raya/Eid. Hopefully she will enjoy it as much as I do whenever I’m back in Kuching 😉

As we embark the third week of Ramadhan, I can see everyone is busy with their Raya preparation, from baking cookies, and cakes, spring cleaning their houses, buying new carpets, curtains, and doing their Raya shopping before it becomes too late.Whenever I go out these days, everywhere is flooded with Raya campaigns, every shopping malls are putting on their best Raya songs, their elaborated mall presentations, and pop-up kiosks are everywhere, and I guessed by the end of this week we are able to know which Raya advertisement goes to this year. My personal favourite will always be from Petronas and TNB’s Raya ads, because it usually gives me the balik kampung vibes, and that nostalgia feeling.

So far, I haven’t prepare anything yet, no new clothes, no cookies or cakes, na-da,…. but I promise I’ll get back to you soon on the Part 2 of balik kampung 🙂 and meanwhile, here’s a famous balik kampung song’s lyric by the late Sudirman Hj. Arshad….

Perjalanan jauh tak ku rasa
Kerna hati ku melonjak sama
Ingin berjumpa sanak saudara
Yang selalu bermain di mata

Nun menghijau gunung ladang dan rimba
Langit nan tinggi bertambah birunya
Deru angin turut sama berlagu
Semuanya bagaikan turut gembira

Balik kampung oh oh…( 3X )
Hati girang
Ho ho… Balik kampung (3X)
Hati girang

Terbayang wajah-wajah yang ku sayang
Satu-satu tersemat di kalbu
Pasti terubat rindu di hati
Menyambut kepulangan ku nanti

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

