Reviving Augustus

Gone with August, here comes September. A very hectic month for me indeed, kudos to those who can manage their time properly and update their blog in timely manner. However, in order to redeem myself, let us revive on some of the happenings in the month of August. My Big Boss a.k.a Dad celebrated his 70th birthday on 13th August and it was an intimate evening with his closest friends and families, but sadly I was not in the scene! Boo to working on weekends, but I did my part on the doorgift, cake, and backdrop design (well, it was my fiance who did all of it 😉 and I took all of the credits)

I was a bit disappointed of not going, but I managed to celebrate with him when he was here for his business trip.  We went out for dinner at Decanter Restaurant in Damansara Height, and surprised  him with cakes. I have always wanted to dine in at this restaurant, and thought it was going to put a hole in my pocket but shockingly, price was quite decent with the portion size served that night. I will definitely come again for my next review. Sorry, no pictures on food because we were too hungry 😀

 

Although I didn’t get the chance to go back to my hometwon, I  managed to squeeze most of my free time meeting up with my close friends. It was always an amusement to catch-up with my dear Kely and this time was at this hidden cafe in National Textile Museum named Kantin by Chef Adu. AnywayChef Adu was one of the judges for Masterchef Malaysia programme which aired in Astro not long time ago, and I still have the jitters whenever I meet up with him! I didn’t get to try his dishes on that day  because I was so stuffed with my Sugarbun’s fish burger  I had earlier 🙂  and I’ll definitely come back again to try his Laksa Johor.

img-20160806-wa0002
with Kely and Chef Adu ❤

Since the cafe is at the National Textile Museum, and there was no entrance fee for us, so we decided to look around. As a first timer to this museum, I enjoyed my visit very much, and it was quite informative for us too. They had an impressive collection of textile, particularly the Kain Keringkam collection (and it’s originally from Sarawak) because I have always been curious on how it is made. This piece of cloth is very expensive, and sometime it can reach to thousands or Ringgits because it is embroidered with gold thread. The motifs are usually the pucuk rebung (young bamboo shoots) at the edges, and  with small flowers in the middle of the cloth.

tk
Kain Keringkam -photo courtesy from Google
tk2
Seen here is Margaret Brooke and her entourage paired their Kain Keringkam with Malay traditional clothes. This piece of cloth also symbolizes as your status in society. – photo courtesy from Google
img-20160806-wa0004
Me with giant Terendak 🙂 A gift from the late wife of Sarawak’s Governer, Datuk Amar Puan Sri Laila Taib to the National Textile Museum. A traditional headgear worn by East Malaysian back in those days, but now, you will see the locals (East Malaysian) wear it during hot days or at the wet market. Please note, it is actually a small in size 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

