I eat Nasi Lemak 2016

After years of missing the heaven on earth “I eat nasi lemak” annual event, I finally get to come this year! 😀 😀 😀 Organized by FriedChillies Food Network, this time they have gathered 40 Nasi Lemak vendors from various parts of Peninsular Malaysia. The event starts early at 9.00a.m until 5.00p.m at TM Convention Centre located in Bangsar, and from the live feed on their instagram account, people have been waiting impatiently outside the building for their Nasi Lemak fix.

img_20161105_120230
For every booklets sold, RM1 will be donated to Reach Out Malaysia to feed the homeless ❤

 

And to those who don’t have any clue what Nasi Lemak is, fret not…let me briefly explain it to you. A national staple for Malaysian, it consists of steamed rice cooked with coconut milk, eggs (hard-boiled or fried), fried anchovies, ground peanuts, sliced cucumbers, and of course the star of the dish would be the sambal goreng(fried chilli paste pounded with shrimp paste, garlic, shallot, lime juice, and sugar) which depends on your fiery hot preference. Usually found wrapped together with banana leaf inside to keep everything intact and also it gives an extra aromatic smell when you are ready to feast on it.

img_20161105_120442img_20161105_120431img_20161105_120511img_20161105_120521

Nasi Lemak has endless possibilities of adding on dishes to complement it with. Some of the popular add-on will have to be turmeric coated fried chicken, sambal sotong(cuttlefish), paru  goreng(fried cow lung?), sambal kerang(cockles), chicken rendang, and many more. So, here at #ieatnasilemak event is where the beginners start their nasi lemak experience, and as for me and the rest, it is time to indulge from favourite nasi lemak vendor and, finding newfound nasi lemak place for our future treat!

20161105_122151
Vendors at work
20161105_122050
Nasi Lemak Tanglin’s Sambal Telur
img_20161105_120842
Deep fried Paru (cow lungs)
img_20161105_120837
The basic : sliced cucumbers, fried anchovies, and sambal goreng

I was at a defeat on my third Nasi Lemak, and I loved every each of it!

img_20161105_122439
Nasi Lemak Tanglin with Sambal Telur

-I really like the texture of the sambal, not too dry and not too oily, and mild to my tastebud 🙂

img_20161105_121410
Nasi Lemak Wanjor, Kg. Baru with Sambal Sotong

-The line was quite long for this vendor, but the tangy sambal sotong really worth the wait

img_20161105_124442
Nasi Lemak Barba Bros with Sambal Kerang

-this sambal kerang definitely hit me at all level, will come and search for them if I am in Ampang or Bangi area.

I couldn’t stay for long but I stayed for a while and watched participants ate their fiery hot sambal on “Sambal terpedas, Makan terpantas” contest. They were required to eat 3 heats of sambal and they had to eat it quick 😀 and it was hilarious!

Please pardon me on my amateur photography skills as I was hungry 🙂

I hope to join this event next year, and eat more and more of Nasi Lemak!!!

p/s: for more info, please do not hesitate to visit www.friedchillies.com

Leave a Reply

